top of page

2nd Senatorial Nominees for Replacement Submitted

Congrats to Monongalia County's Kent Pauley on being included in the submitted nominees. Read below for details. (From State Party Press Release)

WEST UNION, W.Va. -- The 2nd Senatorial Committee of the West Virginia Republican Party met here Monday to select three nominees to replace fomer Sen. Kent Leonhardt. Leonhardt resigned that post last week when he was inaugurated as the Commissioner of Agriculture in Charleston.

Members of the Committee interviewed a dozen applicants and advanced three to the Governor for his selection, as required by state law.

Charles Clements - Wetzel County

Ginger Nalley - Tyler County

Kent Pauley - Monongalia County

"We are proud again of our citizens who served the 2nd District by offering themselves for nomination, and for all those tasked with making wise choices for these nine counties and their future representative in Charleston," said West Virginia Republican Chairman Conrad Lucas.

"Every time we seek replacement officeholders to send to the Legislature, we are impressed by both the quality and quantity of those who step forward. Current and former officeholders, business leaders and concerned conservatives all offered their time and labor Monday to help Make West Virginia Great Again."

Governor Justice will have five days to choose from this list of qualified nominees. The winner will be sworn into office in time for next month's start of the 2017 Legislative Session. They will serve the remainder of this term ending with the certification of the General Election of 2018.

Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page